Daniel De Arakal

Daniel De Arakal

College of Performing Arts; Hall-Musco Conservatory of Music
Office Location: Bertea Hall 207A
Secondary Office Location: Bertea Hall 225


Daniel de Arakal, M.M., earned the Master of Music degree in Classical Guitar Performance from the University of Southern California’s Thornton School of Music, where he studied privately under renowned guitarists Scott Tennant and Dr. Martha Masters.  Mr. de Arakal has performed for and worked with several prominent names in the guitar community, including William Kanengiser, Shingo Fujii and Pepe Romero. In addition to his Master of Music degree, Mr. de Arakal holds Bachelor of Music degrees in Guitar Performance and Music Composition, graduating cum laude from Chapman University’s Hall-Musco Conservatory of Music, where he studied with Jeff Cogan, M.A., Dr. Sean Heim and Dr. Shaun Naidoo.

An active performing musician, Mr. de Arakal has been a member of several award winning guitar ensembles, including top honors guitar quartet and duo at the 2009 Brownsville Guitar Ensemble Festival. In 2012, his arrangements for guitar trio and acumen for both small and large ensemble playing earned him the University of Southern California’s prestigious Guitar Ensemble Award. Additionally, Mr. de Arakal has led an active solo career and has been frequently performed in the University of Southern California’s Classical Guitar outreach program. Mr. de Arakal’s achievements in solo guitar performance and contributions to the Classical Guitar Program earned him the Guitarist of the Year Award from Chapman University’s Conservatory of Music in 2010. Currently, Mr. de Arakal is a member of the Commonwealth Guitar Trio, which have been featured artists on KUSC’s Sundays Live series at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

In conjunction with his performing career, Mr. de Arakal has been teaching guitar, elementary music theory, ukulele and electric bass in the Orange County area since 2009 in both private and small group settings. Here is a member of the Guitar Foundation of America and was inducted into Pi Kappa Lambda National Music Honor Society in 2012.