»International Negotiation Competition

About the Competition

The International Negotiation Competition (INC) is a law student competition in which a team of two law students representing a party/client negotiates either an international transaction or the resolution of an international dispute with an opposing team of two law students.

The INC 2013 will be held at Chapman University Fowler School of Law in Orange, California. Teams from around the world will meet each other and the judges, who are lawyers, business people and leading professors of law from the participating countries.

The competition rounds will be July 2, 3, and 5. Registration, a master class, and an opening reception will take place on July 1, and a closing/awards banquet on July 5. The schedule is subject to change. The deadline to register is June 1.

The Governing Body

The governing body of the INC is the Executive Committee. The committee consists of a President, a Chair, a Secretary, and some Regional Representatives.  Annually, the Executive Committee appoints National Representatives in the participating countries.

History

Back in 1998 two American law schools, Creighton University and Pepperdine University, sponsored the first annual International Negotiation Competition.  The inaugural competition was hosted by Pepperdine and modeled on the existing Negotiation Competition sponsored by the American Bar Association Law Student Division.  Following the success of the Louis M. Brown International Client Counseling Competition, the International Negotiation Competition develops negotiation skills in the context of international transactions and disputes.

The countries represented at the inaugural competition were Australia, Canada, England, and the United States.  The Australian team from University of Sydney was the first winner of the traveling plaque presented by the Practicing Law Institute of New York City.

Since then the competition has become truly international--with teams regularly competing from Australia, Canada, Denmark, England and Wales, Hong Kong, India, Japan, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Puerto Rico, Republic of Ireland, Russia, Scotland, Singapore, South Korea, and the USA.  This year we expect to welcome teams from Indonesia, Italy, and Switzerland as well.

+-2013 International Negotiation Schedule

+-Executive Committee Members

President
Frank Astill
Director, University of Sydney Law Extension Committee
fastill@mail.usyd.edu.au

Committee Chair
Larry Teply
Professor of Law, Creighton University
teply@creighton.edu

Americas
Nancy Schultz
Professor of Law, Chapman University
nschultz@chapman.edu

Asia
Joel Lee
Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore
joellee@nus.edu.sg

Australia/New Zealand
Selene Mize
Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Otago
selene.mize@otago.ac.nz

Common Law Europe
Mark Saunders
Principal Lecturer, Kingston Law School
m.saunders@kingston.ac.uk

Continental Europe
Jan Schroeder
Lawyer
jan@schroeder.dk

+-National Representatives

Australia
Michael Crowley
Barrister and Senior Lecturer, Edith Cowan University
m.crowley@ecu.edu.au
 

Canada
Steven M. Meltzer
Aikins Law, Winnipeg, Manitoba
smm@aikins.com

Michael J. Weinstein
Hill Sokalski Walsh Trippier LLP, Winnipeg, Manitoba
mweinstein@hillco.mb.ca

Denmark
Birte Bruce
Faculty of Law, University of Copenhagen
Birte.Bruce@jur.ku.dk

England/Wales
Mark Saunders
Principal Lecturer, Kingston Law School
M.Saunders@kingston.ac.uk

Finland
Laura Tammenlehto
University of Eastern Finland
laura.tammenlehto@uef.fi

Germany
ILSA, University of Cologne
president@elsa-koeln.de

Hong Kong
Yumi Cheung
Mooting & Conference Administrator, Faculty of Law, University of Hong Kong
yumiymc@hku.hk

India
ADR Board
National Law School of India University, Bangalore
nlsadrboard@gmail.com

Ireland
Jane Moffatt
Law Society of Ireland
j.moffatt@lawsociety.ie

Italy
Corrado Mora
Lawyer; Mediation Advocate; and Civil and Commercial Mediator; Verona, Italy
corrado.mora@mediationadvocacy.it

Japan
Tetsuo Morishita
Professor of Law, Sophia University
tetsu-mo@sophia.ac.jp

New Zealand
Selene Mize
Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Otago
selene.mize@otago.ac.nz

Nigeria
Daniel Bwala
Lawyer
dbwala2002@yahoo.com

Northern Ireland
Mary Traynor
Institute of Professional Legal Studies, Queen’s University Belfast
mary.traynor@qub.ac.uk

Puerto Rico
Arnaldo Elias
Lawyer
revalidas@yahoo.com

Russian Federation
Elena Vyushkina
Associate Professor, Saratov State Law Academy
vyushkina@gmail.com

Scotland
Gavin Cooper
Soliciter
gavin.cooper@raeburns.co.uk

Singapore
Ian McDuff
Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, Singapore Management University
ianmacduff@smu.edu.sg

South Korea
Jae Won
Professor of Law, Handong International Law School
jaewon1938@yahoo.co.kr

Switzerland
Jean-Luc Delli
LAWBILITY
Training Association for Young Lawyers, Zürich
jean-luc.delli@lawbility.ch

United States
Nancy Schultz
Professor of Law, Chapman University
nschultz@chapman.edu

+-INC Rules

Download and review the International Negotiation Competition Rules.

+-Hotel & Logistical Information

Logistical information

The closest international airport to Orange, California is Los Angeles International Airport (LAX).  Depending on traffic, it is approximately 45-60 minutes from Orange.  Taxis in southern California are extremely expensive, and if you are going to arrange transportation to your hotel, we would recommend Super Shuttle or another shuttle service.

In general, public transportation in southern California is not convenient.  We strongly recommend that you rent a car while you are here.  The address of the Law School is 370 North Glassell, Orange, CA 92866.

If you can find a reasonable route and fare, Orange County's own airport, Santa Ana John Wayne Airport (SNA), is really convenient--about a 10-15 minute drive to the competition hotels. Major American cities with nonstop flights to Orange County include Chicago and Dallas.

Hotel Information

Ayres Inn Orange
(714) 978-9168

3737 W. Chapman Avenue
Orange, CA 92868

DoubleTree by Hilton - Anaheim
(714) 634-4500

100 The City Drive
Orange, CA 92668

Mention Chapman University when you make your reservation to receive the Chapman rate.

  • Featured
  • News
  • Events
  • page loading
    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    View all News »
  • page loading
    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    View all Events »