» Institutional Review Board Members

The Institutional Review Board at Chapman University is composed of faculty and staff representing a cross-section of academic disciplines including the physical, social and behavioral sciences, as well as members representing the administration and the community. The IRB is currently housed under the Office of Research.

IRB Board Members

Randy Busse

Randy Busse, Ph.D., Board Co-Chair
busse@chapman.edu

Dr. Busse is an Associate Professor of School Psychology in the College of Educational Studies.

Michelle Cleary

Michelle Cleary, Ph.D., Board Co-Chair
cleary@chapman.edu

Dr. Cleary is an Associate Professor in the Athletic Training Educational Program in the Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences. She is also the Associate Dean of Graduate Programs.

Peter Simi

Peter Simi, Ph.D.
simi@chapman.edu 

Dr. Simi is an Associate Professor in the Department of Sociology in the Wilkinson School of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.  He is also the Director of the Earl Babbie Research Center.

Julia Boehm

Julia Boehm, Ph.D.
jboehm@chapman.edu

Dr. Boehm is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology in the Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences.

Christopher Bader

Christopher Bader, Ph.D.
bader@chapman.edu

Dr. Bader is a Professor in the Department of Sociology in the Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences. He is also a Board Member of the Institute for the Study of Religion, in the George L. Argyros School of Business and Economics.

Siu Fun Wong

Siu Fun Wong, Pharm.D.
sfwong@chapman.edu

Dr. Wong is a Professor in the School of Pharmacy.  She is also the Associate Dean of Assessment. 

Susan Emerson

Suzanne Lewis

Suzanne is the non-affiliated community member.

Alternate Members

Riva Tukachinsky

Riva Tukachinsky, Ph.D.
tukachin@chapman.edu 

Dr. Tukachinsky is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Communication Studies in the Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.

Souhiela Fawaz

Souhiela Fawaz, Pharm.D.
sfawaz@chapman.edu

Dr. Fawaz is an Assistant Professor in the School of Pharmacy

Administrators

Natalie Del Rio

Natalie Del Rio
ndelrio@chapman.edu

IRB/FCOI Administrator
Natalie Del Rio specializes in providing oversight for research using human subjects.

Tom Piechota

Tom Piechota, Ph.D., PE

Institutional Official
Tom Piechota is the Vice President for Research.

 

Note: Members are appointed for a 3-year term and may renew appointment for one additional term.

Save