»Institutional Review Board Members

The Institutional Review Board at Chapman University is composed of faculty and staff representing a cross-section of academic disciplines including the physical, social and behavioral sciences, as well as members representing the administration and the community. The IRB is currently housed under the Office of Research & Sponsored Programs Administration.

IRB Board Members

Daniel Cipriani

Daniel Cipriani, Ph.D., Board Chair
cipriani@chapman.edu

Dr. Cipriani is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Therapy in the Crean College of Health & Behavioral Sciences.

Randy Busse

Randy Busse, Ph.D., Board Vice Chair
busse@chapman.edu

Randy Busse is an Associate Professor of School Psychology in the College of Educational Studies.

Michelle Cleary

Michelle Cleary, Ph.D.
cleary@chapman.edu

Michelle Cleary is an Associate Professor in the Athletic Training Educational Program in the College of Educational Studies.

Robin Kish

Robin Kish, M.S., M.F.A.
kish@chapman.edu

Robin Kish is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Dance in the College of Performing Arts.

Nicole Michaelis

Nicole Michaelis, B.A.
michaelis@chapman.edu

Nicole Michaelis is a staff member in the College of Educational Studies. She is also involved with the Mathematics Engineering Science Acheivment (MESA) program. 

No Photo Available

Hoang "Wayne" Nguyen, M.D.
wnguyenmd@ocpsych.org

Dr. Nguyen is the Director of Psychiatry at Children's Hospital of Orange County and is the IRB's Community Member.

Tim Shields

Tim Shields, Ph.D.
shields@chapman.edu

Dr. Shields is an Assistant Professor of Accounting in the George L. Argyros School of Business and Economics. He is also a member of the Economic Science Institute.

Christopher Bader

Christopher Bader, Ph.D.
bader@chapman.edu

Dr. Bader is a Professor in the Department of Sociology in the Wilkinson College of Humanities and Social Sciences. He is also a Board Member of the Institute for the Study of Religion, in the George L. Argyros School of Business and Economics.

Carolyn Vieira-Martinez

Carolyn Vieira-Martinez, Ph.D.
Vieira@chapman.edu

Dr. Vieira-Martinez is an Assistant Professor in the Department of History in the Wilkinson College of Humanities & Social Sciences.

 

Alternate Members

Kerk Kee

Kerk Kee, Ph.D.
kee@chapman.edu

Dr. Kee is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Communication studies in the Wilkinson College of Humanities & Social Sciences.

David Pincus

David Pincus, Ph.D.
pincus@chapman.edu

Dr. Pincus is an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychology in the Crean College of Health & Behavioral Sciences.

 

Administrators

Sherry Reece

Sherry Reece
sreece@chapman.edu

IRB/IACUC Specialist
Sherry Reece specializes in providing oversight for research using both human and animal subjects.

Yolanda Uzzell

Yolanda Uzzell, M.L.
uzzell@chapman.edu

Human Research Protection Officer (ex-officio)
Yolanda Uzzell is Director of the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs Administration.

Daniele Struppa

Daniele Struppa, Ph.D.

Institutional Official
Daniele Struppa is Chancellor of Chapman University.

 

Note: Members are appointed for a 3-year term and may renew appointment for one additional term.

  • Featured
  • News
  • Events
  • page loading
    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    View all News »
  • page loading
    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    TODAY TOMORROW

    »

    View all Events »