

# From the Office of Institutional Compliance

#### Role

The Institutional Compliance Committee (ICC) supports Chapman University in providing broad oversightof university-related regulatory issues.

#### Responsibilities

The ICC:

- 1. Provides guidance and input on the development of a comprehensive compliance program.
- 2. Identifies and discusses compliance-related topics that could affect the university.
- 3. Promotes compliance within the members' respective units and throughout the university.
- 4. Aids in the identification of compliance risks where exposures may not be fully addressed.
- 5. Assists in the identification of compliance-related educational needs.
- 6. Identifies policies and procedures that are needed to ensure regulatory requirements.
- 7. Develops, implements, and improves the compliance program within the members' respective units, based on best practices delineated in the U.S. Federal Sentencing Guidelines.
- 8. Encourages open communication among campus compliance units and senior universityleadership.

### Membership

The Chair of the ICC is the Chief Compliance Officer. FY 23-24 membership includes:

Name	Title/Department
Peter Aguila	Senior Compliance Investigator/Institutional Compliance
Gail Nishida (Chair)	Chief Compliance Officer/Institutional Compliance
Linda Young	Director of Internal Audit/Internal Audit
Janine DuMontelle (Advisory)	Vice President & General Counsel/Legal Affairs
Dan Ojeda (Advisory)	Senior Associate General Counsel/Legal Affairs
Albert Su (Advisory)	Assistant General Counsel/Legal Affairs
Brian Thomason	Vice President & Controller/Financial Services
Essam Ulhaq	Associate Controller/Financial Services
Helen Norris	Chief Information Officer/IS&T
Keith Barros	Chief Information Security Officer/IS&T
Michelle Sypinero	Assistant Vice President/IS&T
<mark>Brenda Rushforth</mark>	Vice President/Chief Human Resource Officer
Michael Nee	Assistant Vice President of Employee Care and Recognition/HR
Reg Chhen Stewart	Vice President of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Martina Nieswandt	Vice President of Research
<mark>Jen Donais</mark>	Assistant Vice President of Research
Al Vasquez	Vice President/Enterprise Risk and Safety
Rick Gonzalez	Chief/Public Safety
Colleen Wood	Assistant Vice President/Associate Dean of Students/Lead
	Title IX Coordinator
Tristin Hilpert	Assistant Dean of Students/Student Affairs
Amy Rogan-Mehta	Vice President/University Advancement
Ross Loehner	Assistant Vice President/Strategic Marketing
Kristin Beavers	Director/Center for Global Education
Eileen Besner	Director of Faculty Advancement/Office of Provost
Jim Whitaker	Associate Vice President for Enrollment/Chief Financial Aid Officer/Office of Enrollment

## Meetings

The ICC will meet quarterly or more frequently at the discretion of the Chair.

• FY 24-25 - New members are highlighted in yellow.

Revised: May 3, 2024